Skip to content

Derwen College is approved under Section 41 of the Children and Families Act 2014.

This means that Derwen College is, by default, listed in all Local Offers across England and Wales.

Section 41 is a list of all independent schools and colleges for children with special educational needs or disability (SEND) that have been approved by the Secretary of State for Education.

Subsequently, establishments listed in Section 41 can be requested to be named in a young person’s EHC plan.

How are establishments approved to go on Section 41?

Establishments are assessed against the criteria set out in the the Special Educational Needs and Disability regulations, and have to complete a 3-stage process which assesses:

  • stage 1 – specialism and background information
  • stage 2 – quality of provision
  • stage 3 – financial health assessment

Each stage of the application must be successfully completed before an establishment will be entered onto the list.

More information about Section 41

Visit the following government and legislative links for more information about Section 41.

Children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND)

Department for Education SEND Guide for Parents & Carers

Independent special schools and colleges

Section 41 of the Children and Families Act 2014

The Special Educational Needs and Disability Regulations 2014